The Province of Limousin

The French province of Limousin was divided into three departments, Correze, Creuse, and Upper Vienne, with the capital being Lioges. Limousin corresponds to the ancient provinces of La Marche and Limousin together.

In 50 BC, the Romans overthrew the resident tribes of the Gallic Celts, Ligures and Iberes to gain control of Limousin. It was Christianized in the 3rd century along with the rest of the Roman Empire.

In the 6th and 7th centuries, under the rule of Clotaire II and his son, Dagobert I, the people of Limousin defended themselves against the invasion of the brutal Visigoths.

In the 10th century, Limousin was divided into several seigneuries including Marche, Combrailles, Limoges, Turenne, and Ventadour. All were part of the great Duchy of Aquitaine, which was endowed to England by Eleanor of Aquitaine when she married Henry II, King of England. From the 14th century, the region became part of northern France again, and it was reunited with the Royal Kingdom as a province in the 17th century.

During its long history, Limousin has always been a vital French economic region, producing, at different times, porcelain, tapestries, and arms.


  1. ^ Swyrich, Archive materials