The Province of Connaught

Connaught is the westernmost province of Ireland. In the modern era, the spelling changed to Connacht. This province has a population of approximately 424,000 today, and contains the counties of Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, and Sligo. These county names have remained the same since the Middle Ages.


  1. ^ Swyrich, Archive materials